Old People Diner Serves Delicious Sling

from phone 140

Down the hotel street in Poway CA, we went to a diner in the middle of afternoon in which we six (not counting the waitress) were the youngest people by at least 40 years.  And yet, great hip hippy southern California –sun kind of vibe.  Indications that this is where families go, however: there were color sheets, with crayons, and so you can bet we left our mark, oh yes indeed, six young adults asking if anyone has green or yellow in their crayon basket across the table. 

Was it called The Incredible Egg?  I think maybe.  It’s in a strip mall, it looks out onto the street.  I wouldn’t book a flight for the sole purpose of going here, but I’ve found myself down the street from it twice in two years of travel, and I feel like sincere little breakfast places are meant to be shared and talked about, they’re special, since having breakfast out usually signifies something special or at least out of cereal-in-the-kitchen normal.

So this was hash browns done nice and crispy (which is so much harder to do than should be, but the chemistry of potatoes is deceptive, it takes make-ahead planning to drain the excess water out of potatoes), with an omelet/egg dish creation comprised of Swiss cheese, mushrooms, broccoli, and (oh good choice) avocado.  Totally delish.  Fresh California.  Hanging with the long-retired.  Eating breakfast in the middle of the day.  And what was joyful about this dish also was that it was pretty much a pile of cooked things, there was no artful shmear, no starched plating.  Hot food on a warm plate.  Where’s your fork? 

About elifseesamerica

Working in live theater has given me the side effect of hoofing around the country for my paychecks. And it's a big country. So I look and think and listen a lot and it's always something to bring home to the one place that stays consistent - myself. I have two blogs on wordpress: "elif sees america," which talks about my travels around the country, and "the amusing mouth," which talks about food I've eaten, food I've made, food in the abstract.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment